It Is Illegal To Text And Drive In Georgia

People are becoming more and more attached to their mobile devices and cellphones are simply part of everyday life. However, you should never text and drive because no text is more important that your life or the lives of others.

Georgia law states that if you are 18 years of age or older with a Class C license, you cannot drive your car on any public road or highway while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send or read any text-based communication, such as a text message, instant message, e-mail or internet data.

Further, the law reads that you cannot drive while:

  • Holding a wireless telecommunications device to conduct a voice communication
  • Using more than a single button on a wireless device to initiate or terminate a voice communication
  • Reaching for a wireless telecommunications device in such a manner that requires you to maneuver your car so that you are no longer in a seated driving position and properly restrained by a safety belt

Distracted driving is the number one cause of accidents in the United States. Your texting and driving may cost you more than one point on your license, it may even cause you to kill someone with your car.

If a distracted driver causes an accident or hits you while driving, contact me at The Law Office of Timothy McCalep right away for an experienced attorney at 404-692-7525.

No Text Message Is Ever That Important

There are exceptions to the texting and driving laws. The exclusions apply when:

  • You are reporting a crime, a traffic accident, medical emergency, fire, serious road hazard, or a situation in which you reasonably believes a person's health or safety is in immediate jeopardy
  • A public utility employee or contractor is acting within the scope of their employment duties when responding to a public utility emergency
  • A law enforcement officer, firefighter, emergency medical services personnel, ambulance driver, or other similarly employed public safety first responder is performing their official duties
  • You are engaging in wireless communication while in a parked vehicle

You could be subject to a civil lawsuit or criminal charges. Depending on the charges, if you are convicted, you most certainly will be guilty of a felony offense and subjected to a $150 fine.

Tips To Avoid Driving While Distracted

Avoiding your mobile device while driving can be a difficult challenge. To help overcome the challenge, you should try one of the following tactics:

  • Completely turn your cell phone off
  • Put your cell phone out of reach into an area like a trunk or glove box
  • Download a cell phone application that prevents texting while driving
  • Put your cell phone silent

No matter how big or small the situation may be, contact The Law Office of Timothy McCalep to help you navigate through your options when you need a lawyer in greater Atlanta at 404-692-7525 or contact me online.